BC RCMP officers recognized at Police Honours Night


2017-11-17 12:15 PST

RCMP officers were commended for their actions for everything from saving hostages during a home invasion to entering a burning a building to search for residents, during the 36th annual Police Honours Night at Government House.

On November 16, Lieutenant Governor Judith Guichon and Minister of Public Safety and Solicitor General Mike Farnworth presented awards to officers of all ranks from municipal departments and RCMP detachments for their extraordinary accomplishments in life-saving incidents, and for their determination above and beyond the call of duty.

I am extremely proud of each of our police officers recognized at Police Honours night. They literally put their lives on the line, in very serious situations to protect the communities we serve. They exemplify the reason we all became police officers and I’m so pleased they are being honoured in this way, says Deputy Commissioner Brenda Butterworth-Carr, Commanding Officer for the RCMP in BC.

In total 70 officers, 3 from municipal partners on various integrated teams and 67 from RCMP teams and detachments across B.C. were honoured and awarded for their courage, tenacity, and bravery in various police incidents.

Campbell River Detachment
- Corporal Martin Neveu (now with Mackenzie Detachment) and Constable Angela Tenisci - placed themselves at substantial risk to stop a domestic assault in progress and provide life-saving first aid to the victim.

North Vancouver Detachment - Corporal Brendan Coleman, Constables Robert Domville, Sean Kim, Aaron Land, Stephen Montanaro (now with Westmount Detachment, Quebec), Christopher Nordlund, Samer Sawan and a member who wishes to remain anonymous - entered a burning apartment building to search for and evacuate residents.

Ridge Meadows Detachment - Constables Shauna England (now with Federal Serious and Organized Crime), Josh Garcia, Tom Graham, Harpreet Kombo, Kyle Mackenzie, Brent Morson (now with Integrated Police Dog Service), Rick O’Brien and Peter Westra – placed themselves at substantial risk to enter a residence of an armed home invasion in progress to rescue the hostages and apprehend the suspects.

Salmon Arm Detachment - Corporal Richard Gingras (now with Vernon Police Dog Service), Constables Patrick Evanishen, David Goodyear, Trevor Medernach, Adam Poitras and David Warner (now with Enderby Detachment) - rescued a distraught and suicidal male armed with a knife from his burning home.

Campbell River Detachment - Corporals Kyle Ushock (now with McBride Detachment), Ronald Vlooswyk, Constables David Dormuth, Tae Kim (now with Coquitlam Detachment), Andrew Pedersen and Glen Stewart – used exceptional judgement while dealing with a male barricaded inside his home and armed with a rifle.

Chetwynd Detachment - Constable Marc Tremblay (now with Valemount Detachment) - searched for and stayed with an injured male who had crashed his ATV down a steep embankment.

Combined Forces Special Enforcement Unit - Chief Superintendent Trent Rolfe (now with Major Crime Section), Superintendents Will Ng (now with Richmond Detachment) and Janice Tompkins (retired), Staff Sergeants John Cater (now with SIOT) and Kirk Duncan (now with Surrey Detachment), Sergeants Parminder Bilkhu (now with Professional Standards Unit), Patrick Damgajian (now with CIAD Unit) and Desmond Kiehlbauch (now with Langley Detachment), Corporals Ryan Begley and Nicholas De Winter, Detective Constables Sonny Buttar (now with Delta Police Department) and Jay Edwards (now with Vancouver Police Department), Constables Kris Amyot (now with Parliament Hill Security Unit), Kerry Beauvais, Stephanie Ng (now with Hamilton-Niagara Detachment, Ontario) and Tom Saunders, and members who wish to remain anonymous x7 - for their exceptional commitment during a complex investigation involving a series of arsons and shootings targeted at law enforcement personnel.

Integrated Homicide Investigation Team - Superintendent Manny Mann (now with the Lower Mainland District Office), Inspector Elija Rain (now with Surrey Detachment) and Sergeant William Yee (now with CFSEU) - for exceptional commitment during a homicide investigation involving youth suspects.
Superintendent Will Ng (now with Richmond Detachment), Sergeant Major Michael Procyk (now with the Office of the Commanding Officer), Staff Sergeant Stephen Lee (now with CFSEU), Sergeants Patrick Damgajian (now with CIAD Unit), Jagdeep Dhot (now with Major Crime Section), Corporal Gerlind Spekat, and Constable David Wiseman (now with Assiniboia Detachment, Saskatchewan) - for exceptional commitment during a multi-phase homicide investigation. Corporal Dominic Duchesneau and a member who wishes to remain anonymous - for exceptional performance during a major investigation into a targeted gang-related murder.

Lower Mainland Integrated Police Dog Service - Sergeant Jeremy Anderson (now with Police Dog Services Training Center) - while off duty entered a smoke-filled vehicle to search for occupants. Corporal Aaron Courtney (now with Abbotsford Police Department) - negotiated the successful surrender of a suspect driving a stolen vehicle dangerously through city street.

North Cowichan/Duncan Detachment - Constable Joseph Power - managed a chaotic scene where victims had been stabbed and the suspect was still present.

Vanderhoof Detachment - A member who wishes to remain anonymous - saved a suicidal female from jumping off a railway overpass.

Police Honours Night is a high profile event where members of independent municipal police forces, the RCMP, and First Nations and transit police services who have acted in an exemplary manner are recognized for their committed service.

All honourees were selected by a committee of representatives from the B.C. Association of Chiefs of Police and the Ministry of Public Safety and Solicitor General’s Police Services Division.

Released by:
BC RCMP Communications
Phone: 778-290-2929

Follow Us:

Date modified: